Aviyal-bit of everything

‘Blaming mommy’ tale

Posted on: September 23, 2009

Growing up, our family had been often ridiculed by the extended family ( aunts,uncles and kids from dad side) for our eating habits. Unlike most Christian families, we did not eat meat or fish regularly ..mostly for special religious occasions like xmas, easter etc. So much so that when we attend weddings and functions, where meat is an essential dish, we often got stomach upsets (and we were ridiculed even more). Having regular non veg dishes were also considered kind of a richness symbol, I guess. It worked for us, we were not rich and most our veggies came from our own farm/land.

 But we ate veggies a lot. I can not say mommy is a great cook ( who do you think I blame, for me not being a good cook) but aviyal, sambar, cheera /muringa ila thoran, moru curry..any vegetable dish for that matter, did not go wasted at our home in spite of them being made in big pots ( now we joke big kuttakams).. we needed less quantity of rice and more ( and more) of veggies.

 So when my friend UL asked here, ‘ that’s all you have for lunch?’, I was  like ‘you have no idea of the quantity girl. I don’t eat them as a side dish to go with rice. It is my main dish( and mostly no side other dish or another veggie). Also told her, I blame it on mommy and ‘what is that tale’ she asked. This is the tale.

To brush my secret pride: even without eating much non veg, we kids did better than all of them; studied reasonably well (hey none of have Ph.Ds- mommy thought I will make it..I can hardly write mommy), ok settled.

 Eating habit is one among many things we blame her for. In all, whatever we are today, well, we blame it on mommy.

 Chakkara umma mommy. You have no idea what you did to your kids!

3 Responses to "‘Blaming mommy’ tale"

I would be real happy if my daughter grows up and blame it all on me like you do, girl! Your mom is such a role model to everyone…go veggies go…your mom raised all of you well…she would be proud to read this tale..

thank you for your kind words. she is a role model with lot of imperfections too.

You have made your mommy proud Mia.

if only dear..thank you for your kind words.

Hi! Long time…
I am vegetarian and like you eat loads of veggies and less of rice. Find it difficult when veggies are less. Guess I too blame my mum for that 🙂 and a lot more 😉

:)glad to hear from you. here to moe veggies. me too, it’s an unending list of blaming mommy!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,670 hits

Archives

