Aviyal-bit of everything

Butternut squash !- survivor cook is cooking

Posted on: October 15, 2009

I was planning to make spaghetti with spaghetti squash for Saturday dinner. That got changed when I realized, by mistake I picked up butternut squash during the grocery shopping earlier in the day.

I had to do something with it. I could bake/grill it with brown sugar as usual- did not want to go out to the cold to throw it in the grill on the deck, didn’t want to spend so much electricity baking in the toaster oven.

This is what I came up with when I mixed it with a can of mixed bean salad set aside for my weekday lunches.

– peeled the skin ( got a hard skin), cleaned the inside( easy with a spoon) and cut the squash into medium sized cubes-wash them.

– in a kadai, with a teaspoon of oil sputtered mustard

– added the chopped half onion. 2 mts into it added ginger garlic paste

– 1 minute  later, added ½ tsp of turmeric powder, 1tsp chilli powder, added salt

– When that got ready, added the cut squash. Mix it well to coat the squash.

– Put the lid on and cook it on medium flame. No need to add water. It does not take long to cook 10-15mts. – With a potato masher, mashed roughly leaving some bite size pieces for the bite

– Added the drained can of mixed bean salad ( normally has red kidney beans, chick peas, soy beans etc- it comes already cooked)

 – Added 1 tablespoon of frozen grated coconut ( well I had it in the freezer)

 – Turn off the heat, keep the lid on. – Mix well and ready to eat.

I took it for lunch 2 days in this week just by itself. It had a look ,feel and texture of Kerala dish olan when I ate it.

6 Responses to "Butternut squash !- survivor cook is cooking"

I do something similar. Instead of adding the canned beans, I add frozen peas to it. I don’t like my veggies to be so sweet, but enjoyed having it with pudina rice. Also, interesting, I add either onions or coconut to my dishes, not both. Will check out how that tastes.

I should try with peas. i use forzen peas for lot of dishes- mostly my own trial recipes. never heard onion and coconut NOT together funda. wonder why is that?

I love butternut squash soup. Have the recipe on my other blog 🙂
yummy..that is perfect for a winter night!thanks

With olan it is always green chillies for me(esp in Tvm) – and coconut milk and curry leaves at the end – no mustards or onions or turmeric or red chillies – this sounds delicious and yum! If the coconut was fried and, used plain coconut, cumin and the other ingredients turmeric and chilli powder as a kootu – this would have been our version of erusseri minus onions 🙂 i can see how this would be delicious with roti – while you are handing recipes out – tell me more on this sphagetti squash dinner, i would to try it out your way sometime..

I guess what I was talking was kootu. in our side of kerala we make a dish with pumpkin and brown payar. because of squash the texture was the same. umm..spagheti squash recipe, that is an expensive recipe UL,I can not just give it out:)

I think olan is the simplest traditional recipe ever.

No turmeric, onions, ginger, garlic, cumin, pepper, coconut, no seasoning with mustard or anything.

Here it goes…

1. Cut wintermelon or calabaza in US (aliases of elavan or mathan in Kerala) as big flat pieces.
2. Add salt and cook well with a little water and green chillies slit length wise.
(No need to drain excess water, more the water better the olan tastes. These two vegetables tend to ‘generate’ water and shrink when cooked. Take this into consideration when adding salt.)
3. Add a tablespoon of raw coconut oil.
4. Optional – add well cooked brown gram.

Enjoy your traditional olan.

slap for daring to take our olan’s name:) I am so bad in following recipe, but this I must try.
And visitor, swagatham. nalla easy andan recipes ondo?
veendum varane..vallapozhum.

I got butternut squash just to try this recipe of yours 🙂 I have it sitting in my fridge, will make it for dinner tonight – I also found a yummy gingery squash soup recipe that I wanted to try with the squash. Will let you know how it goes.

ayyo akay.can’t even call mine a recipe for great chef like you. thank you. hey, i think squash and ginger will go together eh! let me know.
just like mine your blog id not so active these days akay! busy or lazy (like me..hahha..me desperately shamelessly looking for company:)

Just wanted to let you know that I tried this and it was yummy – thanks 🙂 I used coconut milk instead of coconut & mashed a little bit.

oh my! seriously. never thought someone will try this out and you liked too! coming from a great chef like you I feel humbled ( almost hard to believe). thanks akay.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,670 hits

Archives

