Aviyal-bit of everything

LMT- Reading Awards

Posted on: March 1, 2012

Tuesday, I accompanied my son’s class-the whole school went- to church for the lenten mass, in school bus. the whole experience was beautiful.

while they had lunch break, i went home and finished off some work and drove back to school(2mts). It is time to read for molu’s class and son’s class. I was nervous about reading to molu’s class, due to my indian accent..but WAS very nervous to read to grade 2s. they are bigger kids, they all read chapter books..what to read for them? something that I can manage..

It was molu’s special helper day as well. as I entered her class she was sitting on the special helper rocking chair while rest of the class on the carpet. I read Llamma llamma Red Pajama and one of the books from God’s little Zoo series (UL gave it to my kids I think). they were laughing, laughing even more, were competing to ask questions..half an hour just went by. They also sang a beautiful song they had just learnt on God’ love.

Off to grade 2. They were waiting. I am not sure whether my nervousness showed on my face/body language. I greeted them, introduced my self and started reading a very basic Level 1 picture book. I saw the puzzled look..hesitant looks..paused and asked was everything alright?.’That book is so babyish’ they screamed.  I replied’I thought you all are at reading level 1 and that is the only book I preactised”. they all went “NOOOOOOOO”. Alright . I started reading a Level 2 and heard even louder “NNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOO”. now that I have their attention, time to bring out the one I wanted to read for them. Melanie Watt, a sure hit with  kids of their age.I know their class had most of her books( chester, chester’s master piece etc), i brought the missing one’Have I got a book for you’. I had the class engaged for good 20mts..was fun fun.

Molu, came back with the big thank you poster made and signed by her class that said ‘ You are a very good reader and we enjoyed both the books’. I could see the pride in her eyes when giving it to me..felt like I am receiving an award-very special one indeed!

son got a thank you note from his class today signed by his teacher and students. It said’ We loved you using expressions when reading and your joke on reading Level 1 books made us laugh so much. Thank you for taking time off from work to read for us”. Another award.

Every year I volunteer to read in February, as we celebrate it as a ‘read for love month’. It is mutually beneficial–it helps me to overcome my fear of my accent ( and not being understood) and them ofcourse reading time. next year I doubt I will read for son..what do I read for big kids?.

This is my LMT—-yes, I don’t want to miss an opportunty to flaunt my 2 awards…hihi..

4 Responses to "LMT- Reading Awards"

congratulations…keep up the reading…you will find books. believe me you will – as they grow older, the more fun it would be…

Awww…! the cherished awards and prizes ever. Yay to the little moments!

Congratulations. Looks like the tables were turned and you made your kids proud – what a nice moment to treasure! Glad you decided to share Shy.

Thanks girls. Though I was nervous, it turned out to be very beautiful eperience

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 16,670 hits

Archives

